I am exhausted.

That has been an understatement for the past week!

Well, we finally moved! cats and dogs and chickens and everything else… It took three truckloads to haul everything over to the new place. Yes, you read that right – three truckloads! and we are not talking little trucks, we rented a 16 footer. Empty it looked humungous; everything we owned could fit in… but as things started moving out of the garage, out of the house and from the backyard we feared the worst – where the heck is everything going to fit!?

This whole shenanigans started last Friday with us driving down to pick up the keys and clean and sanitise the new place. Saturday we rented the truck – we were going to rent two trucks and both Mitchell and I to drive one each and be done in one trip – but, as Murphy’s law has it, if anything could go wrong, it will. Mitchell was unable to be present with me at the rental place, so I just reserved one truck and we returned later in the day to take it home. Needless to say, not much went in the truck that evening…

The new place is 200 and some 60 kilometres away. Not really a stone throw away. We had to cater for traffic times and a slower drive due to a full load. Then, add the never ending construction points along the highway, and you spell misery… On a good run, one trip would take us 2 hours and 40 minutes (one way); then another trip would be over 4 hours! I haven’t slept much since last week. Sorry, let me rephrase that: WE haven’t slept much since last week. There was a whole team effort going on and regardless of how long it took to get it all from point A to point B (side roads and pee breaks included), there were no unfortunate incidents.

Just keep on with it.
Keep on going as far as you can.
That’s how you get there.

How do you get there by Pam Holland —

Out of this whole life lesson, I have a piece of advice to share with all of you needing to move in the future. Take time to declutter your current living quarters way before you start packing! (advice came particularly strong from my realtor lady, but I brushed it off with a “she doesn’t know what she’s talking about” attitude) Do not leave it for the last minute; you will drive yourself insane. Throughout this whole process, I kept telling myself “I’ll get to it. As I pack, I’ll make a pile with what stays and one with what goes”… right! Friday night came around and everything needed to go in boxes asap. Then, I thought “that’s okk, we take everything and sort through it at the new place.” Great idea, at first, but then I ended up with 3 truckloads!

Also, if finances allow you, enquire about a bridge loan to help with the purchase and closing costs of the new house. If you tend to keep everything and become, even slightly, a hoarder, you do not want the stress and hassle to have to move everything during the closing day! I didn’t know I have become a knick-knack hoarder until this past weekend. Everything was tucked in nicely, out of sight, and it didn’t bother anyone… until I had to empty every drawer and clean every nook and cranny of the house. I figured, crying wasn’t going to make the situation any better anyway!

It’s all over now. All our crap stuff belongings have been moved. The house looks a lot smaller now and we’ll probably be living out of boxes for a while… But it was all worth it!

Personal satisfaction is the biggest reward there is!

 

